Newbie looking at an HD4

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

ikessky

Newbie looking at an HD4

Post by ikessky »

Good afternoon everyone! I'm getting dangerously close to pulling the trigger on a Shark HD4. Why the Shark versus other machines? Well, being a newbie, I want a turn-key package. I also want to deal with one company if something does go wrong. I also don't mind the fact that it runs off 110v so I don't have to add any circuits out in my garage.

I do have a few questions before I embark on this journey. To give you an idea of my usage, I will start off by saying that I'm just a hobbyist right now. I mainly want to start off my journey by making things for myself as well as my friends and family. One of my friends is currently starting a board game company and has expressed interest in having me make some stuff, but my guess is that will be limited for the time being. My ultimate goal would be that I'd be able to sell some different things (I've got lots and lots of ideas written down) that would help pay off the machine. I would like to eventually make enough of a side business that I could teach my kids about design work, marketing, manufacturing, etc. I enjoy my day job, so I'm not looking to quit that by any means (I do industrial/manufacturing engineering). I would eventually like to get into making bass guitar bodies, carving gun stocks, and maybe even starting my own custom line of each, but that is very "pie in the sky" dreams of mine. My thoughts are to do more 2D and 2.5D stuff while I learn the machine and design aspects and then step up to some of the 3D ideas that I have. Now that you know what I'm looking to do, we'll get on with the questions!

1) I've been looking at the HD4 with the extended bed. Is it really worth the extra $1000 to step up to the 50" cut length? I know that I could do the tiling toolpaths, but how much of a pain really is that?