New Shark Pro HD

Questions/answers/discussion about initial setup of your CNC Shark

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

kruizer

New Shark Pro HD

Post by kruizer »

I have jumped of a really tall cliff and signed on the dotted line for the new Shark Pro HD. It looks like this is the right place to find some support if it is needed. The machine will be here this week and an enclosure will have to be built for it. I am a total newbie to CNC woodworking so there will, no doubt, be quite a learning curve and I surely will have a lot of questions in the future. Thanks in advance for being here.
kruizer

jeb2cav
Site Admin

Re: New Shark Pro HD

Post by jeb2cav »

Welcome and good luck with your new adventure. The single most important thing you can do now, and even after you receive the machine, is to work your way through the VCarve tutorials. By that I mean watching them, and then seeing if you can duplicate the process on your own. This forum, along with the Vectric forum, has a lot of good participants as well...

kruizer

Post by kruizer »

Well, it is Sunday Nov 6 and my Shark is not here yet. :( In the mean time I have been doing a lot of reading and surfing and finding a lot of negatives about this machine and the way it is built. As a retired mold maker and machinist, I am disappointed with the issues regarding parallelism and perpendicularity and am not looking forward to trying to correct them. It appears that I am going to be starting with a machine issues before I ever get started with the challenge of learning to draw and program this machine. Ah well, life is full of challenges I guess. I trust that you will all be able to offer hints and tips to this end :roll: On the positive side, I have managed to draw and program some Vcarve stuff and pocket milling stuff so all is not bad.
kruizer

Joraft

Post by Joraft »

kruizer wrote:
Well, it is Sunday Nov 6 and my Shark is not here yet ...