Precise (!) Z adjustments

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

FredJuergens

Precise (!) Z adjustments

Post by FredJuergens »

I just acquired a Shark Pro +, and I'm a newbie to CNC woodworking. I have to engrave 140 individual walnut plaques with names of donors to a building campaign. The plaques will be on display in the completed building for the next 50 years or more. I want the engravings to all look as nearly the same, so far as the font goes, as possible. The workpieces will all be planed to as close to the same thickness as possible. The font will be Times New Roman, 0.400" high, and I expect to use a 60 degree included angle V-bit.

In preparation for this project, I've discovered that small variations in positioning the tip of the bit at the top surface of the wood (the Z direction) leads to noticeable differences in the width of the strokes (especially the thinner sections) making up the individual letters. It appears the the gentlest "jog" by tapping the Z- or Z+ button on the NewWave softtware moves the bit up or down by some 0.020" to 0.030", much more than I would like to tolerate in starting position. I've read on this forum that slowing down the FRO speed while jogging can reduce the minimum jog. (I've not had a chance to actually try this method yet, but it seems like sort of a kludge.)

So,... is there another way to lower the V-bit in increments of 0.003" or less until it just kisses, say, a thin metal feeler gauge placed on the wood surface? (Metal has to be a better gauge, I think, than the paper suggested in the Shark set-up pamphlet.) If there is another way, I think this would allow more uniformity in the letters I intend to engrave. (And if so, the technique should be described in future editions of the pamphlet!)

All input is welcome. Thanks!

RhB_HJ

Re: Precise (!) Z adjustments

Post by RhB_HJ »

Hi Fred,