Control Panel install

Discussion/questions about software used with your CNC Shark and programming issues

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

HappyJackP38

Control Panel install

Post by HappyJackP38 »

I am new to CNC and do not always understand how CNC always works, mechanical ok, software not so much.
Problem: What do I do next:
I have the standard Shark, I have assembled the machine, made all the connections, updated the computer, went to the Next Wave download and got the 2 newest programs,
veredist _x86.exe program and the CNC Shark controller download (#15) and using the new install manual as directed I updated the firmware, installed the x86 program first, then the CNC control panel
I also got past the USB cable problem. Now in the control panel I went to the jog tab and can move the carving head through all ( X, Y, Z) movements and (+/-). Using the manual page 8 step3: Load G code
"in the lower left corner" of the control panel, I get the message (please load file) Question, what file, from where, how do I move the file ?
Will someone please explain or walk me through the G code thing, so I can try and get through Steps #4 and #5.
I thank it is going to be a long winter.

Jack

peg_legs

Re: Control Panel install

Post by peg_legs »

I think what you are talking about is that you are ready to run a program and have your Shark "do it's thing".
If this is correct, then the program the control panel wants is the .tap file you would have saved in your design software.

If you haven't saved that file, go bacl to your design software (like VCarve Pro) and insure you are happy with your design
then save it as a .tap. Your controler will be looking for a .tap file to load (converts it to a gcode that the Shark needs).

I would hope you will have your mouse curser on the "E Stop" on the control panel if this is the first time you run a program with a bit in the router!