Firmware 2060 update

Discussion/questions about software used with your CNC Shark and programming issues

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

nwflycaster

Firmware 2060 update

Post by nwflycaster »

I have never done anything via cnc before so I know I have a rather large learning curve to go through. My new CNC Shark Pro Plus arrived the other day and I have now assembled it as per the instructions. On page 5 of the instruction manual it says to do a firmware update, every time I try this I simply get the message "failed to connect...1". Do I skip this part and go on or keep or keep trying to figure it out.

Jeff

jeb2cav
Site Admin

Re: Firmware 2060 update

Post by jeb2cav »

Hi Jeff,

Your computer is not successfully talking to the control box. There could be a number of minor, yet not documented reasons for this. You may find an answer in this post - http://www.cncsharktalk.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=260 - which I wrote a few weeks ago. If the document doesn't help, just post back to this topic and I'm sure others will have ideas to try out as well.

Bottom line - the firmware update didn't work because the computer doesn't recognize the control box.

nwflycaster

Post by nwflycaster »

i'm guessing I will have to try the patch. I went out to costco when it arrived and purchased a Dell laptop specifically for use with the Shark. It has Windows 7 Home Premium, 6 GB of memory, and a 64 bit op system.

Jeff

jeb2cav
Site Admin

Post by jeb2cav »