new machine

Questions/answers/discussion about initial setup of your CNC Shark

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

marketplace

new machine

Post by marketplace »

OK Guys I just got the go ahead from the boss to pull the trigger and order my new machine
I would like some help with what all I need to purchase to get up and running, but want to do everything possible to make good choices the first time.

I am a building contractor but also build some custom furniture and small items (boxes, signs etc)
I need to purchase the machine along with the router but also will need a new laptop,bits, ??
I have a little experence with this type of equipment but not a lot.
Any imput will be appreciated

Consultingwoodworker

Re: new machine

Post by Consultingwoodworker »

A lot of the answer will depend on the work you want to do.

A new laptop is not necessarily needed. The control software for the machine itself is not demanding. You can download a trial version of the VCarve software and see how well it works on your machine. It is better to have the VCarve software on the computer that will be running the machine, because you WILL be making adjustments on the fly.

The bits you will need will be determined by the projects. A 1/4" straight bit, a 1/2" 90 degree V bit are your starters. I use a 3/4" dia straight bit for planing my work surface, and recently bought a 1/16" tapered ball end bit for carving.

The thing about CNCs is that you buy them for specific reasons, then once you see what they can do, you'll be off and running!

Ralph

marketplace

Post by marketplace »

I plan on doing some custom engraving on some urns and other memorials
does the 1/2" v bit work for small letters?
I like the idea of planing the work surface I guess I didn't even think of that.
I am assuming that I can get the bits I need from Rockler as well
Thanks
Tim

marketplace

Post by marketplace »

One more thing I forgot