Setup Help Needed

Questions/answers/discussion about initial setup of your CNC Shark

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Barry Anderson

Setup Help Needed

Post by Barry Anderson »

I am a newbie. I picked up my Shark on Tuesday. Have loaded the Vectric Software with no problems. Have spent the better part of today (Friday) trying to get the controller software loaded to no avail. I have installed and uninstalled it numerous times. Once, the "main" page came up where you can jog the spindle but the "keys" were not bold and did not work. I had a friend assisting that has the same system with a router instead of a spindle. We hooked his laptop up to my control box and it worked. This tells me it is a failure to communicate between my computer and the control box. I thought I might be having a problem with the USB port. Computer technician said 2 of my ports were not working, but the one I was using is. With the need for a battery, etc. I decided to buy a new computer. Have tried loading from the disc. Have printed the control panel manual(86 pages), and followed the directions. I am not computer illiterate, but I am lost. The last time I installed it a screen came up that said: NC POD Firmware Update 2083 Click her to Install. When I clicked I got a message that said failed to connect. I'm tired. Would appreciate any help and/or advice. Thank you in advance.

Barry Anderson
Barry Anderson
Anderson Custom Woodwork, Inc.

4DThinker

Re: Setup Help Needed

Post by 4DThinker »

There is a driver you'll need to install so the control software will see the USB port your Shark control is plugged into as a com port. You can download it for free here: http://register.nextwaveautomation.com/

You want the vcredist x86.exe file. That registration page is very outdated, but installing this file is still needed even on modern systems. Install it. Reboot. Try your controller again.

Barry Anderson

Post by Barry Anderson »