new pirahna and cant load usb tap files

Questions/answers/discussion about initial setup of your CNC Shark

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Muellertr

new pirahna and cant load usb tap files

Post by Muellertr »

I just got this and spent a little time looking at forum but I cant find specifically what i need>

I have never used a cnc before, but i am a big computer guy and have watched tons of videos on cnc and lots of the vectric ones too, so i actually thought i knew how to get this thing going asap right when i got it.

question 1: the Pirahna Fx comes with vcarve desktop 8.. i made a basic toolpath, and saved it to a tap file, and in the post processor options there are only like 8 options, and there was even a paper that came with the software, that says to use the cnc pirahna arcs/in.tap choice. which i did. there is also a cnc pirahna 3d contours/in.tap choice. i have tried that also.. i save these, put then on a usb, and then when i put the usb into touch controller for the pirahna fx, the usb button does engage so that you can press it but the screen just goes blank and no files appear. for a millicsecond there is a splash screen that comes up and before it dissappears i can tell that is says something about detecting thumb drive, but it goes away to just an empty screen with a scroll bar on the side so fast i cant read it. it says for the pirahna that the machine software is already installed and i looked at the next wave site and dont see that i should need any kind of firmware update or such. I am using a new flash card and even tried reformatting it just to be sure, but cant get it to read.

question 2: So assuming at some point i get past this and can actually load a tap file, I cant find any video that actually shows past saving your tap file. I need to know that actualy steps, i understand the theory but since i cant find a video of something showing right up to where the machine starts carving im unclear.
are these the right steps: