Just got a Shark Pro Plus, axis cables not labeled.

Discussion about the CNC Shark Pro Plus

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

waynevan

Just got a Shark Pro Plus, axis cables not labeled.

Post by waynevan »

Howdy all, this is my first post here, though I've been reading threads for a couple of weeks now. There is a ton of information here.

Our Shark Pro Plus arrived a couple of days ago and assembly went smoothly, (thanks to the extra info I got here) but the laptop that will be dedicated to the machine has not arrived yet. I have a few questions of course, as I am a total newbie to CNC routing, though I am a very experienced woodworker. The first one involves the dang axis cables, only one of which was labeled when we took it out of the box.

1-The "Y" cable has a sticker on it, the other two have nothing, and seeing as the both come out of one flexible conduit thingy, I can't tell which is which. One comes out 12 to 14 inches before the end of the flex conduit and one is at the very end. As I'm sure other machines must have the same set up, which is which?

I've been messing around with the trial version of Aspire and can see it has a ton of capabilities, but it is a bit of cash as well. We (my wife and I) intend to use this machine almost strictly in a commercial capacity, so I'm sure we will be needing the Aspire or something like it, though I can't imagine another program being as friendly to the machine itself based on what I have read.

2-I guess every newbie has questions about software, and I have more or less been leaning towards getting the Aspire software, but how much can be done with the package that comes with the Shark Pro Plus? It has Cut 3-D and V-Carve 6.0.