Entering new tools into tool Data Base V CarvePro

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

momojito

Entering new tools into tool Data Base V CarvePro

Post by momojito »

Hi I am new to this. I am trying to enter some new bits into the tool Data Base of V CarvePro and have no idea what information to put in.

The Bites I am trying to enter are:
0.0625in. (1.59 mm) PreciseBit 2-flute Ball-nose End-mill, 0.200 in. max DOC, 1.5 in. OAL
0.1250 in. (3.18 mm) PreciseBit 2-flute Ball-nose End-mill, 0.50 in. max DOC, 1.5 in. OAL
0.2498 in, (6.35 mm) dia. 4-flute 0° Tapered Ball-nose Carving bit, 1.00 in. DOC, 1/4 in. shank, 2.5 in. OAL

Geometry
Diameter (D) ??? (My guess is this is the shank size 1/4" 1/8")

Cutting Parameters
Pass Depth ??? (No Idea what this is)
Step Over ??? (No Idea what this is)

Feeds & Speeds
Spindle Speed ??? (Speed of the Router)
Feed Rate ??? (My guess is this is the speed of XY&Z)
Plunge Rate ??? (No Idea what this is)
Would appreciate if someone could help me with this.
Thanks
Bruce

saramos

Re: Entering new tools into tool Data Base V CarvePro

Post by saramos »

Here's a general description of the various parameters. What values to use can vary based on the material of the bit and the material the bit is being used on.
Geometry
Diameter (D) is the diameter of the cutting tip of the bit such as the .0625, .125 and .2498 for the bits you listed.

Cutting Parameters
Pass depth
This is the maximum depth that the cutter will make in a single pass. This will depend on the material being cut. You can take deeper cuts in wood than acrylic or aluminum. A general rule of thumb for wood is for it to be no more than the diameter of the bit.
Step Over