G-Code Help

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

RobieMo

G-Code Help

Post by RobieMo »

I am looking for a little help on this one. I am making some Mancala boards and have a bunch of ovals. For some reason there is a small "hiccup" on the ends of the ovals. I have a few guesses why but it doesn't matter. My question is how do you get rid of them? I think I see them in the G-Codes, but then what? I have ZERO experience working with them.

If someone is bored and wants to take a look at it, I would certainly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Rob
Attachments
Pocket 9.tap
(398.72 KiB) Downloaded 190 times

jeb2cav
Site Admin

Re: G-Code Help

Post by jeb2cav »

Hi Rob,

Can you please post the VCarve project - or at least enough that has the oval vectors and the toolpath set that you are using?

thepuchman

Post by thepuchman »

I would be willing to look at it but I need more than the code. I can program in code fine but without a print I am recreating your work. I did look at the TAP file and it was all in G00 rapid and G01 linear moves. I did not see any G02 cockwise arcs or G03 counterclockwise arcs. Send me what you can to my email address rnash@vinu.edu and I will look further.

Buc

Post by Buc »

Rob,

Did you try post processor "CNCSHARK-USB_NewArcs_inch"? That will give you the G02 and G03 codes in your tap file. I assume you are using "inch" and not metric.

Buc
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

Thomas A. Edison

The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday

RobieMo

Post by RobieMo »

You guys are the best. Here is the project. To explain a little better, when I run the 3/4" ballnose bit, it makes a pass in a perfect oval shape. Then it moves towards the ends of the oval and adds a couple of points of detail (that I don't want) making the oval not so oval. After that, the bit moves down to the next level and does the same thing. End result is ovals with crooked edges, if that makes sense.