A question for all you sign meisters

Anything and everything CNC-Shark-related

Moderators: ddw, al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

MikeDe1025

A question for all you sign meisters

Post by MikeDe1025 »

I'm a woodworker not a sign maker but alas I've been asked to make a sign, and for compensation no less, now that I have a CNC machine. Compensation gives me a nice warm feeling. I've made about a bazillion projects in wood over the years but not one carved sign. Imagine. Anyway, I really have no problem with the Shark software and getting my lettering onto the wood just how I want it. That just kind of fell right into place with no troubles at all. The person wanting this sign wants the lettering engraved first of all so I can make it from the VCarve program. No raised lettering. But they want the engraved lettering to be red and the rest of the sign surface to be white. Now with all of my woodworking experience for some dumb reason I just can't wrap my brain around a trick for making that happen without having to paint each letter with a small artists brush. I know there must be simpler and smarter ways of doing this. Can someone give me the proper steps for this? If it matters I'll be using 1x12x3/4 and the lettering will be 2" tall with typical width based on that height. I'm gonna bet when I see the answer I'm gonna slap my forehead but hey, I'm already knocking my head up against the wall anyway.