Getting a little patriotic

Browse around for inspiration, or share your work to inspire others!

Moderators: al wolford, sbk, Bob, Kayvon

Keith Hodges

Getting a little patriotic

Post by Keith Hodges »

My son was just deployed to Afghanistan, serving as a door gunner on army helicoptors. So I've been thinking of the patriotic themes, thus the praying hands acrylic carving. Also, just yesterday, the remains of a young Marine killed in action in Viet Nam, in 1975, we're returned to his remaining family members, and his funeral is tomorrow. Being a Viet Nam vet myself, I was very touched by this, as well as the reception by the small town of Center Ridge, Arkansas, which is close by. This prompted me to carve the lithophane of the 18 year old (at the time) Marine, using the photo from the local newspaper story. I'm going to contact the family members, two brothers, and two sisters, and present it to them in honor of their brother. Some things just need to be done!
Attachments
Heres to our troops.JPG
PFC Maxwell.JPG
Being retired is hard work. Spending way too much time in the shop these days. (And loving it).
Shark Pro Plus HD, Vcarve Pro, Photo V Carve, Cut 3D, scan probe.

Dash

Re: Getting a little patriotic

Post by Dash »

Keith,
Nothing more can be said...
Please give my/ our regards and best wishes to his family. Very nice Memorial.
Served his Country, died for his Country...
God speed Marine!!
Hats off to you too, Keith
Dash

hdtheater

Post by hdtheater »

Thank you to you and your son for your service.

I am always proud to see how communities rally around the neighbors who serve(d).

Your gift to his family shows that good exists in this world.

They look fantastic BTW. To get a high quality carving using a newspaper as a source is an achievement in itself.

-Eric
Thanks,

-Eric

Facebook.com/inspireddesignstx

ttolli

Post by ttolli »

Nuff Said-